AeRO Executive Committee

Meet the AeRO Executive Committee!

Supported by AeRO staff, the AeRO Executive Committee is responsible for providing strategic leadership direction for AeRO.

Peter Elford


Peter is an Australian Internet veteran and passionate Internet advocate having “built the Internet in Australia” in 1989 as employee #2 at the Australian Academic and Research Network (AARNet). From 1993-2013 he held a variety of technical and senior management roles at Cisco, before re-joining AARNet in 2014 as Director, Government Relations and eResearch a position he held until 2019. In addition to serving on the AeRO executive, Peter is an non-executive director on the board of auDA, a member of the Regional Development Australia (RDA) ACT committee and President of the Gungahlin Community Council.

View Peter’s LinkedIn profile

Ian Duncan


Ian Duncan is the Director of Outreach for the Australian Research Data Commons, providing the Australian research community and industry with access to nationally significant, data intensive digital research infrastructures, platforms, skills and collections of high quality data.


Ian has previously held roles in other NCRIS organisations as well as being a senior IT manager at the University of Queensland.


See Ian’s LinkedIn here

David Abramson


David has been involved in computer architecture and high performance computing research since 1979.


He has held appointments at Griffith University, CSIRO, RMIT and Monash University.


Prior to joining UQ, he was the Director of the Monash e-Education Centre, Science Director of the Monash e-Research Centre, and a Professor of Computer Science in the Faculty of Information Technology at Monash.


From 2007 to 2011 he was an Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow.


David has expertise in High Performance Computing, distributed and parallel computing, computer architecture and software engineering.


He has produced in excess of 200 research publications, and some of his work has also been integrated in commercial products. One of these, Nimrod, has been used widely in research and academia globally, and is also available as a commercial product, called EnFuzion, from Axceleon.


His world-leading work in parallel debugging is sold and marketed by Cray Inc, one of the world’s leading supercomputing vendors, as a product called ccdb.


David is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), and the Australian Computer Society (ACS).


From 2016–2019 he was a visiting Professor in the Oxford e-Research Centre at the University of Oxford.

Gareth Williams


Gareth has a Physics Ph.D. and had a short research career before starting at CSIRO in 2001 in a role supporting High Performance Computing.


He has helped evolve CSIRO’s HPC capability to expand to meet a broad range of needs and to enable integration with other services.


He shifted his role to focus on Data and Data Services, recognising that data is often a limiting factor in research and working with data is particularly challenging at scale.


Gareth leads the IMT Scientific Computing MaD team (Modelling and Dataflow) and fulfils a ‘glue’ role, engaging with a range of internal and external groups interested in Data and eResearch services.

Luc Betbeder-Matibet


Luc Betbeder-Matibet is Director of Research Technology Services at UNSW. He has an adjunct appointment in Centre for Big Data in Health at UNSW and is a Visiting Scientist with CSIRO Data 61.

Frankie Stevens


Dr Frankie Stevens is a consultant in eResearch services, specialising in the application of advanced information and communication technologies to the practice of Research.


Previously, Frankie has held roles with the Australian Research Data Commons, the NSW state body for eResearch, the Research Data Storage Infrastructure (RDSI) Project and was eResearch Programme Manager at the University of Sydney. Frankie has 20 years’ experience in the Higher Education Sector, having worked in both the Australian and overseas university sectors. Frankie’s current role is as the Australian Academic Research Network’s (AARNet) Associate Director of eResearch.


Frankie’s more recent activities in the Higher Education Sector have centred on enhancing research through the use of advanced expertise in both Scientific and Information & Communication technologies. Her leadership role in developing strong relationships between research communities, local, state and national eResearch infrastructure initiatives has involved broad awareness raising and promotion of expert capabilities for the Australian Research Sector. She is on the Technical Advisory Board for the Global Research Data Alliance, and the Executive Committee of the Australasia eResearch Organisations (AeRO), and co-hosts the Australian Sensitive Data Community of Practice.